Up-cycle Design – Envelopes

Once again I turn to some outdated printed media to craft some envelopes. They’re for personal use, so I doesn’t matter what the end result looks like. They fair fine enough in the post. I used a copy of YCN Student Annual 2010/2011. As the name implies, it’s a book full of graphic design work by students.

These aren’t a standard size envelope, but they fit A5 paper folded in half. And that’s good enough for my personal correspondence needs.

Using these makes snail mail quite a lot more fun and personable than it already is.

I hope to share some more of the specific art and design books that reside on my bookshelf in the near future. I’m reading a few essays that are not directly related to design, but I may find myself sharing such media here, too. Sometimes it’s good to read outside of your interests and you may find yourself some nugget of wisdom that’d otherwise go overlooked.

2 thoughts on “Up-cycle Design – Envelopes

  1. alisoninwonderment

    Your envelopes are like the rare exotic spice in a dish that transforms the ordinary into the extraordinary, if only more people would follow your example, how wonderful the world would be!

    Like

    1. Haha, well hopefully other folk do get into the mindset of upcycling old printed media when it’s possible. I think the qualities of recycled paper on its own (brown, or Kraft) is very nice, but I don’t see it used often in stationery.

      Like

Leave a comment