Personal Project Work -Stationery Plans

There are a couple of personal projects that I’ve been slowly chipping away at. It’s difficult to move any faster than I am when most critique is from a small number friends who want to give any, and I’ve been away from academic pressure. I’ve feel like I’ve had a difficult time structuring myself. I don’t have access to all of the tools needed to reach the end of projects, so nothing I’ve done really has a ‘completed’ feeling. I’m going to log some project progress here so that I can better see how much farther I have to go.

tigers
Assets from last year that I’ll put to use on stationery

I’ve wanted to make stationery for some time now, I’d like to finalise some of the letter paper designs that I had worked on. I do need more specific critique on those works though. I thought making sticker sheets would be a fun (smaller, and more straight-forward) project.


You may think stickers superfluous, but they can brighten up diaries, notebooks, and workspaces in general. I’d argue that their surface value of being “nice to look at” is good enough.

I have a few assets from digital illustration experimentation in that I’d very much like to put to use, such as these pair of tigers. The current plan for a tiger sticker sheet is simply both of the tigers, with a small selection of leaves. The colours are bold and cheerful.


There are two dragon graphics I made with the intent of printing them as large stickers, rather than part of a sheet of stickers. Personally, I’d like to have some big stickers to place on sketchbooks and such, and I know others would, too.

I don’t want to squander space when printing, so I’d like to add some smaller stickers to avoid such waste. I’d like to add relevant objects such as coins, pearls, or jewel encrusted daggers or staffs – anything that you’d find in a dragon’s hord. But It also depends how competent I am at designing them!

I know the compact design of the first dragon graphic is much less fussy than the second. I anticipate the red dragon may be a little more difficult to peel and stick place. I don’t have any plans to adjust the design however. I’d like to see how practical it is once printed.


To help remedy some creative blocks I mentioned, I do want to support students though the alumni scheme I was offered, and I feel it will help build up confidence weakened though lack of any real meaningful academic discussion and exercises. I’m more than happy to share skills and methods of creativity with students. I hope that I can visit the school campus safely, and even have the access to tools I don’t have. Maybe even make use of the facilities from departments outside of graphic design (such as the textile department). I’ll be printing stickers the first change I get. I look forward to recording the results of trial sticker printing on my blog!

4 thoughts on “Personal Project Work -Stationery Plans

  1. alisoninwonderment

    I love the mischievious, and almost “who me?” phoney innocence that the tigers wear in an” I’m not fierce, i’m just a kitten” sort of way. this is the exact opposite of the way kittens are often portrayed in cartoons as pertaining and identifying to the tigers they wish they were.🐅

    I would happily purchase wruting paper and stickers from you if you make them . Your dragons are probably more fragile if they have long wispy bits. Without altering the dragon could a setting,or landscaoe be placed around the dragon without detracting from it’s oersonality, or imposing a ‘scape” that detracts from its fluidity? Would that then enable an easier lifting of the dragon,without compromising its appeal?

    As always, your art immediately creates a happiness and an enticing, nostalgia,for the story books i had as a child,whose captivating illustrations gave added depth to the narratives. Your designs are preposessive of my attention, and a wonderful use of colours, inside your imagination must be a glorious art chest.Thank you for the pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your insights, Alison.

      Ah yeah, adding some structures to the dragon, is reminding me of strategically placed support in (marble) statues. Sometimes it’s distracting, and sometimes, it’s not. It depends, doesn’t it? It’s possible to include mayhaps a treasure chest and swords behind etc.

      I’m happy when I hear from anyone that anything I’m crafting is able to capture their attention (or imagination). Hearing others reminisce about picture books from childhood is always nice, I still like to go though the few children’s books I’ve kept since way back when. And I make sure to keep a look out for contemporary illustrative books that spark that joy and inspiration, too!

      Like

Leave a comment