Kunstmuseum Basel – Obersteg Collection

While in Switzerland, I visited Kunstmuseum Basel to view the Meisterwerke der Sammlung Im Obersteg (‘Masterpices in the Obersteg Collection’showcasing four floors of work, but featuring art by Picasso, Chagall, and Jawlensky. I’m going to share a few of the pictures that I took.

I found getting to Basel and the museum itself relatively painless (my specific journey took a few hours). It has to be said that the bus and train system across Switzerland is easy-to-use even if it’s your first visit. Basel is also chock-full of art galleries… so I was surprised to hear one of them is just simply called… ‘Kusnstmuseum’.

kunstmuseum admission
Inside Kunstmuseum Basel’s New Building

The Meisterwerke der Sammlung Im Obersteg exhbition was held in the Kunstmuseum’s New Building. At the time of visiting (early March) the gallery spaces were quite quiet and no group tours were permitted.

The following photographs show only a very, very small few of the works on show. (Of course, I’m biased to which pieces I like, too!)

Jawlensky self portrait
Self-Portrait (1911) Alexej Von Jawlensky

Jawlensky’s use of colour is so vibrant and confident! I’d never seen his work in person before and I am so glad that I got to see some in Basel.

stormy landscape
Stormy Landscape (1915) Alexej Von Jawlensky
Jawlensky wall
Wall of Jawlensky’s work

landscape with church
Landscape With Church (1909) Wassily Kandinksy
Kneeling nude on yellow ground
Kneeling Nude on Yellow Ground (1913) Cuno Amiet

I took a lot of photographs of the paintings that were shown without glass. (Because my phone camera isn’t really made for talking shots with glare and reflected light!) Seeing many oil paintings in person again was great. The vibrant colour palettes and strong figures were inspiriting.

20200307_141506
Portrait of the Model Giulia Leonardi (1910) Ferdinand Hodler
leon bonhomme 4
Works by Léon Bonhomme
effigy of a fruitbearing rock
Effigy of a Fruitbearing Rock (1958) Jean Dubuffet

The varied figures and mediums used was a highlight for me. Yes, there were also many oil paintings, but even then, each artist uses them in their own way cultivated through their unique exploration of the medium.


chagall empty
A quiet room with Chagall’s work on display
me and the village
Me and the Village (1911) Marc Chagall

Baboon and her young
Baboon and her Young (1951) Pablo Picasso

I really like the strong shapes and contrasting textures that the baboon is composed of. Her face very much looks like the Citroën 2CV, don’t you think?

reclining nude
Reclining Nude (1934) Pablo Picasso

The exhibition housed a pair of Picasso’s harlequins (which were a big feature). I can’t say that they’re easy to photograph and I didn’t get good photographs of them, but I was very happy to see them in person! (I made sure to buy a notebook with one of the pantings printed on the cover.)


The ground floor had on show a few rooms of modern artworks.

carl andre
Cedar Piece (1959/1964) Carl Andre

In the gallery space above, you can see Cedar Piece by Carl Andre in the foreground, and clockwise, from the left: the florescent light Untitled (1969) by Dan Flavin, the aluminium sculpture Untitled (1970) by Donald Judd, and the painting Untitled (1968) by Blinky Palermo.

I also visited the Kunstmuseum’s Old Building and saw 4 floors of art there. If I share any photographs of the artwork, I’ll make a separate blog entry.


kunst stuff
Some items I bought from the gift shop

Looking back, I’m really happy that I made my way out to Basel to see the museum, even if I was on my own. (It may have been more exiting to see and share with someone else, but there are always future gallery exhibitions to go to.)

I bought myself a notebook with one of Picasso’s harlequins, and a couple of postcards. I have already sent the postcard of Sam Gilliam’s work (Rondo) to a friend who the work reminded me of.

Until I can visit galleries again in the future, I have the memories of visiting Kunstmuseum Basel, and feel that now is a good time to create for the sake of creating. When last did you put aside time to make something that shows how you feel…?

4 thoughts on “Kunstmuseum Basel – Obersteg Collection

  1. alisoninwonderment

    I am so pleased to see these pieces from the museum. I’m afraid the Effigy of a Fruit Bearing Rock is a penis(?). Is that not what they say about Gustav Klimpt’s “Kiss” also? My apologies if my comment suggests my mind is in the gutter. Yes, the baboon’s face does look like a Citroën 2CV. Amazing sculpture.

    Like

    1. Effigy of a Fruit Bearing Rock is a penis if you want it to be!! It’d pretty funny with it’s tiny arms and hands (presumably legs, too). You can interpret art as you please. You can believe what someone else thinks… or what an artist stated about their work… but you can make your own opinion on art independent of those factors and its just as valid. Death of the author… or artist… in this case.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Kunstmuseum Basel – Old Building – Imogen's Student Blog

  3. Pingback: Past Academic Year – Reflections – Imogen's Student Blog

Leave a comment