Creative Industries – Staff Exhibition 2020

On the 31st of January 2020, I visited the preview night of the creative industry staff artworks exhibition, held within Newcastle College’s Mandela Building. The exhibition runs until the 21st of February this year. The opportunity to visit during opening night brings with it the usual perks; conversation, atmosphere, and drinks.

t print 01
Print (detail) by Hania Klepackia

Within exhibition were photography, digital photomontages, prints, collage, sculpture, watercolour paintings, acrylic paintings, oil paintings, mixed-media, video,  pottery, found objects, and more.

The exhibitions space is relatively small, but it was used most practically; there wasn’t any wasted space.

Here are a very small number of photos that I took of artworks on display. Not every piece had a name, but all of the works were credited.


kerl b 01
Wire bird sculptures by karl Mercer
t sculpture
Close up of karl Mercer’s sculptures. These are 1:1 to the bird they’re modelled after.

I’ve had conversations with friends in the past about sculpture. Some who create sculpture believe that the medium used to create pieces should be embraced; that is, the materials should not be obscured and be readily obvious to the viewer. I have not yet formed a view on that particular argument myself. No deception is involved in the presentation of these birds.


Laura Sedgwick Photo 01
Photography by Laura Sedgwick
t photos 01
Photography by Graham Stouph

Getting to talk to some of artists was an opportunity that felt good to take advantage of. When asked, staff shared the thoughts or reasons behind creating pieces, the inspirations, or the mediums used with me. Overall, it was a very casual opening night.

I don’t believe that every staff member exhibiting happened to be present at the opening show. None of my tutors were exhibiting work, and I only talked to a few of the staff to ask about their pieces – admittedly, the staff members I already knew.


sb resin 03
Stories by Steve Baxter (driftwood cast in resin)
sb resin 01
These pieces were created with found driftwood cast in opaque resin, displayed over a lightbox.

Most of the artwork on display was for purchase. There was no price tags, but the artists were happy enough to talk to those interested about pricing.


Since most everything I’ve made recently has been digital –  for the sake of replication, mostly –  it was nice to see work that there are only single copies of. It’s harder to share these works because of their solitary existence, but of course, as with any gallery viewing, it feels as if I am privileged to see them in person. And that’s not to say that digital artwork – sometimes freely circulated on the internet – is not as valuable, but it certainly is refreshing.

As it’s been a while since I have visited any of the art galleries in the city of Newcastle, I wish to see their current exhibitions. Maybe some of my peers will show an interest in seeing them together, if I invite them.

2 thoughts on “Creative Industries – Staff Exhibition 2020

Leave a comment