Live Brief Opportunity – NDAS

Taking part in live briefs is essential to building a diverse and solid portfolio. I’ve decided to take on the brief presented by Northumberland Domestic Abuse Services (NDAS). The brief asks for a new logo. The logo will be utilised in letter heads, website pages, newsletters, and in Powerpoint presentations… and so on. Of course, brand guidelines will be created to keep the usage of the new logo consistent.

All of the usual limitations of creating a contemporary logo are in place; to make sure the logo scales well – that it can be shrunk down as a letter head without losing clarity – to make sure the logo performs adequately in monochrome, that the logo can appeal to a range of people (service users, partners, funders etc.). And then there are specific requests, such as the use of purple, and that typography used must be approved by the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB).

The brief asks for at least 2 logos, but I hope to manage my time enough so that I may provide 5 distinct logos each representative of the charity’s public face , it’s work, and it’s goals. It sounds like a lot of work for an individual. To create a number of polished logos and create brand guides and mockups. I understand that other students are interested, too. I wonder if students will work in collaboration at all? I need to work on my teamwork skills.

The video below, Control, was suggested viewing in initial research. The video was created by the agency Raw London to rase awareness of different forms of abuse during Valentine’s Day and presented to students in schools. The script is essentially all in the choreography.

There is a lot of information within the brief to digest and a lot of directions that research can go in. The charity will be in touch with students to deliver a formal brief. …I wonder what types of students have decided to take on the brief? I didn’t hear any of my peers taking interest, so, I’m curious!

One thought on “Live Brief Opportunity – NDAS

  1. Pingback: WKL200 – Reflection (02) – Imogen's Student Blog

Leave a comment