Counter-Print – “Monogram Logo”

Borrowing a book titled Monogram Logo (published by Counter-Print) from the studio out of vague interest, I’m finding myself appreciating the art behind crafting solid monograms. Whether the designs are fun and playful, or elegant and assured of itself, there is a lot of good design packed into this physically small book.

COVE R OF MONO BOOK
Monogram Logo by Counter-print, 2014

Since the book I have ahold of isn’t my copy, I won’t scan pages from the book, I’ve found a few images of the contents here.

SPREAD OF MOFO BOOK 03
Page spread from the “H” section of the book.

There are only so many letters in the English alphabet; so there are people, services, companies and so on, who will inevitably share the same set of initials! This book groups monographs by the leading letter of the insignia. There is a section for almost every letter in the alphabet.

SPRED OF MONO BOOK 01
Collection of “M”-centred monograms.

The number of monograms on each page differs and they are speed out in an easily-digestible manner – all numbered and tased with the letters used to construct each monogram. Each “chapter” – for lack of better word – lists the graphic’s origin, purpose, the designer and year it was created.

SPREAD OF MONO BOKK 02
End of “S” and start of “T”.

The book itself is a beautiful object. No doubt about it. But it’s also a resource of inspiration and knowledge.

willow tree loho mickip
BP&O mockup of the Willow Tree logo, designed by Bunch.

The above mockup for the Willow Tree logo from the renowned agency BP&O shows the standard of monogram and cipher icons chosen for the book.

Searching for the logos seen in the book online, I can find some of them in use, out in the wild.

Myself, I’ve the initials “I”, “N”, and “C”. Of course it spells out the abbreviation of “incorporated”, but it’s also a homophone for “ink”. I’d like to make some rough drawings of my initials to see if I can’t also create a type-based icon or monogram to use myself (even as a stamp).

Do you have a favourite logo made of type that forms a monogram? Does it capture the spirit of the product or service that it’s trying to convey?

Leave a comment