Summertime Module – Reflection; Self and Others

Returning to study this semester, I had been anxious about presenting research and findings of “bad design” and personal development over the summer. Turns out, there was no need to feel upset. (There never is, is there?) I was given a good round of constructive criticism to reflect upon. Least surprising was being told that I should place more value in my ideas. …It is something that I grapple with routinely. This year, I strive to more closer to a confident problem-solver.

I am going to attempt to reach out to other designers though platforms well-used in industry. I want to become far more confident in sharing ideas with like-minded creatives and receiving outside criticism –  that is, outside the safety of the studio.

SAM
Screenshot of a peer’s blog entry.

My peers looked at poorly-designed subjects that I hadn’t; beauty products, stationary, food packaging, and automobiles, just to name a few. It was good to see a variety. Most peers shared their research and development work though their blogs, some gave presentations with printouts.

Other students who looked at food packaging in particular gave great examples of how strongly visual language can effect a consumer’s confidence in what a product actually is. A salad dressing bottle with the fonts and colours that evoke a car wax bottle is very disorientating. A novelty eraser blind bag that possesses the same playfulness and whimsy of confectionary wrappers is confusing and potentially dangerous.

CHRIS
Screenshot of another peer’s blog entry.

Students who looked at apps discussed visual hierarchy and font families. Students made sure to mention the importance of leading, kerning, and tracking. Legible, sensible, and coherent icon design is important too – for use not only on apps, but public signage and restaurant menus, too.

One thing I never touched upon – an important element, too – is the material that a product is made of. Paper stock, printing processes… an object’s material quality helps reinforce its function. Material can say a lot about who the product is marketed to.

As stated previously, I take from my critique the need to develop confidence in my own design and solutions. No one gave feedback on my verbal presentation, but I know that if I had rehearsed the information that I had shared prior, it would have been a smoother delivery. …All presentations feel as if they could have gone better in retrospect, don’t they?

2 thoughts on “Summertime Module – Reflection; Self and Others

  1. alisoninwonderment

    Self assessment is always harsh, but I would say your articulation is wonderful, and as an outsider to the world of design in general, I feel that consequently I’ve learned so much from your blogs. Well done!!

    Like

    1. It’s good to have an understanding of one’s shortcomings, so one can either make an attempt to change them or work with them.

      I aim to I make blog entries as accessible to outsiders as fellow designers. So, that’s great to hear… thank you! Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment