APD100 Review – “Learning is a verb.”

Time to pin down my thoughts on the course’s advertisement module. I have a category on this blog where I keep examples of advertisements that I like and store research on the topic of advertisements. The research covers marketing strategies, target market and demographics, and so on.

It was no secret that the majority of my peers really didn’t enjoy the advertisement module. And I too, had some difficulty with it. But once I realised that there were no boundaries when it came to the ideas I could put forward, or the content that I could produce, it became a more enjoyable module. The module did however, drag on (to an excruciating length).

I think I faired best with the short exercise to advertise a rollercoaster. The task requiring one to craft a 6-panel storyboard for a video advertisement. That meant that one could imagine the the end result could be animated, live action, or a mix of the two. I found storyboarding easier once I realised that there is a plethora of online stock photo galleries one can use to get an idea down on paper faster if it’s content one isn’t used to drawing.

tutupig
A sketch of little pigs in tutus… Silly, but I had to get it out!

The major body of work was made up of advertisement brief to market the Ballet performances of the Royal Opera House to the younger population. I have never been to any ballet, and so I had to research a lot about it in order to generate ideas that could fly. Some ideas included animated commercials, interactive or ambient advertisement, and the traditional poster. I chose to tackle the brief from many angles.

As I’ve not been given any feedback yet, I wonder if any of my proposals to any of the brides would really have been feasible, or if I had pushed things too far, if the ideas were too weird. I really was intent on making strange content (in the hopes that it was memorable) but perhaps to the point of being too oblique?

I had an ethical breakdown during this module. Hh… h-hooray…?

In the end… yeah, the module was… bad. But dare I say I felt good about pumping out many strange analogue drawings in such a short space of time. No doubt that they don’t go down well, though. It has to be said that I still feel uneasy when I imagine creating work for services and products that I don’t agree with. We’ll see what change the future brings.

2 thoughts on “APD100 Review – “Learning is a verb.”

  1. alisoninwonderment

    Just recognise the journey, and the fact that you navigated it with drivers of different veichles… and reached the destination, despite route changes /traffic diversions along the way.

    Like

Leave a comment