Workshop – Stickers!!

An end-of-the-academic-year workshop, sticker-making. Completely optional, but very rewarding! Some of my peers have used the department’s sticker machine prior. This technology and process is new to me.

It’s a straight-forward method. I dropped my image files into a specific shared file – the sticker machine template – laid out as many images as I could on the sheet, and added cut-contours around the sticker images (with 0.25 line width) so the sticker machine knew where to cut out. After I sent the file to the staff in charge of the printer, and payed, my stickers came out!!

I had made a logo graphic for a previous (branding) project; after much deliberation, I went down the route of fruit (juice) aesthetic for that module. “Rebranding” the graphic communication studio as Creative Juice, I had the opportunity to create logos with the same visual language of fruit juice labels and stickers.

Afterburner stickers 01
Detail of my sheet of stickers – fresh off the press!

The small oval stickers are the size of a real fruit sticker – the kind that you either peel off or eat accidentally with your fruit. The edited font I used really helps reinforce the aforementioned visual language I was aiming for.

The Afterburner stickers were made from a graphic I had made a while ago (it’s tweaked a little bit.) I really like how they turned out and I look forward to using them! …to stick them all over.

One thing to note; other students and myself see that the images are a little streaky in places – and apparently it’s possible to change a file’s colour settings to mitigate that. I’ll look into that as I’d like to print more stickers in the future, especially knowing how simple the process is. I printed matt stickers this time, but a glossy finish and clear stickers are options, too.

 

One thought on “Workshop – Stickers!!

  1. Pingback: NCI404 Feedback – “Through perseverance than strength.” – Imogen's Student Blog

Leave a comment